I have no fancy name for this because I don’t really have any idea what to call it. I do know that many people have no idea what to do with all the cabbage they have received in their CSA. I actually stumbled upon this awesome side while cooking eggs for the kids and wanting something more with mine. We had ham and cabbage so I thought why not!

20141202-131646-47806713.jpg

Ingredients
-1tbsp bacon grease or other cooking fat
-1-2 slices of ham (or bacon), cut into small pieces
-1/4 of an onion, chopped
-about 1 cup of cabbage thinly sliced
-salt and pepper to taste

20141202-131814-47894842.jpg

Directions
1. In a large frying pan heat fat over medium heat.
2. Add ham/bacon and onions cooking for about 2 minutes to get them started. If using bacon you may want to cook it first to make sure it’s nice and crisp before adding everything else.
3. Add cabbage and toss with salt and pepper to taste. I added a lot of salt and the saltiness was amazing. Cook until cabbage is soft and enjoy.

I served mine with over easy eggs. I put them on top and cut them letting the yolk drip everywhere. AMAZING!!

-Katie

