Snacks around here are pretty simple. Since we don’t buy anything processed we rarely have anything ‘prepared’. So snacks are usually fruit and veggies or maybe some baking.

20140605-095847.jpg

Applesauce is a huge hit here and I like to think I am an applesauce making master. Recently Tom bought a large bag of apples from the market so applesauce has been made often! One day after our CSA bin I was making applesauce and saw the rhubarb and thought about how wonderful of a combination this could be. My first attempt at rhubarb applesauce was a hit with the kids so I thought we’d share the recipe with all of you!

Rhubarb Applesauce

Ingredients

-5 apples, cored and sliced (you can peel them as well. I usually skip this because I’m lazy)
-3-4 stalks of rhubarb, sliced
-3 Tbs water
-1 tsp cinnamon
-1/4 tsp nutmeg
-1 Tbs liquid honey

1. Place all ingredients except for the honey in a medium sauce pan. Stir it up and simmer it on medium/high heat for about 15-20 minutes (or until apples and rhubarb are nice and mushy. I sometimes leave mine for much longer and enjoy the smell.)

20140605-095938.jpg
2. Stir in the honey.
3. Purée the mixture. I use and immersion blender.
4. Enjoy warm or cold!

We’ve enjoyed this applesauce many times. You can also leave the rhubarb out for regular applesauce or sub other things in like blueberries! We’ve served this applesauce over BBQ pork chops!

Enjoy!

-Katie

