One of my favourite soups of all time is tomato. Growing up my favourite was Heinz brand and I could not stand Campbells’. Yes I’m talking the canned variety. Since moving to a grain free lifestyle, our diet no longer consists of most prepared foods. We prepare everything from scratch for the most part. This has been sad for me.  At times I miss the convenience of having prepared food in my cupboard but I also enjoy exploring the flavours of fresh foods and am proud when I have culinary success!

Tomato Jalapeno Soup!

Tomato Jalapeno Soup!

I LOVE to cook is soup. I feel like with soup you can be so creative and there really isn’t too many ways that you can mess it up. Fall means the start of soup season! While I believe you can eat soup any time of the year, there is nothing better than enjoying a warm bowl of soup on a chilly fall or winter day.

When I saw the abundance of tomatoes we had growing in our garden I knew I needed to make a homemade tomato soup. I have never made a tomato soup from scratch so I was very curious as to how I was going to do this.

Of course not being a super culinary genius I needed to start somewhere. A quick google of my favourite grain free blogs led me to a Tomato Basil Soup from the Primal Palate. I took this recipe as a basis for my tomato jalapeno and ran with it.

Ingredients

  • 12-14 roma tomatoes, cut into chunks (I should have measured how much but I forgot to. I cut up tomatoes until my large cookie sheet was covered)
  • 1TBS oil
  • 2 TBS dried basil
  • 1 TBS coconut oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, minced(can always add more or less depending on preference. I find I always opt for more.)
  • 4 cups of broth (I used our homemade chicken broth)
  • 1-2 jalapenos depending upon your spice preference, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Place tomatoes on a cookie sheet and cover will olive oil. Sprinkle with basil and salt and pepper making sure to coat it well. Place in oven and roast for 30 minutes flipping the tomatoes about halfway through.

    Tomatoes before and after roasting.

    Tomatoes before and after roasting.

  3. In a large soup pot heat coconut oil over medium-high heat. Once the oil is melted add the onions and garlic. Cook until the onions are translucent.
  4. Once the tomatoes are done add them to the large pot and continue to cook for about 5 minutes.
  5. Add broth and allow to simmer on low heat for 15 minutes.
  6. Add jalapeno and simmer for 15 more minutes.

    Jalapenos are added and ready to mix

    Jalapenos are added and ready to mix in.

  7. Remove from heat and allow soup to cool slightly. Use an immersion blender to puree the soup up. Add more salt or pepper if desired.
    Leftover soup cooling before entering the fridge.

    Leftover soup cooling before entering the fridge.

    This soup was amazing! It definitely filled my desire for tomato soup and it was great to know that  we used ingredients from our own garden and from our CSA bins! I can’t wait to make more soups this fall with the wonderful produce from our Fall CSA Bin.

Let us know if you try this soup and if you enjoyed it! For a late dinner for Tom (and second dinner for me) we heated up the soup and served it with our spaghetti squash from our garden! The possibilities are endless! We plan to use this recipe as a basis for making a chicken wings sauce.
-Katie

