On Saturday morning at the market, I was standing in line at one of our favourite butchers, while Tom was getting our fruits and veggies. This butcher ALWAYS has a huge line. I once stood in line for an hour waiting to get our chicken.  While standing in line, I notice a tall guy walking down the shops and people randomly taking out their phones to take pictures. I was very perplexed as to what was happening and could only see the top of this gentleman`s head. As he got closer I saw his face and I thought to myself, ‘is that Chef Michael Smith?’ I tried to casually stare and listen for his distinct voice but it was busy and loud and hard to hear. Tom came and joined us in line and I asked him who that was. Tom looks over, smiles and says, “Chef Michael Smith!” Tom is a huge fan of his so of course we had to get a picture of Tom with him.

 

Tom, our little man, and Chef Michael Smith.

Tom, our little man, and Chef Michael Smith.

 

As we were leaving the market, Tom said that we should make a Chef Michael Smith recipe that we had made before for sweet potato soup. It was a delicious soup and we all enjoyed it. Before we could make the soup though we needed to cook our chicken so we could make some fresh broth. So on a Chef Michael Smith kick I decided to find one of his recipes for our chicken tonight.

The recipe was from the Food Network (the link is the title below). I have included any changes I made in bold – most were out of necessity because the pot I used is not huge.

Chef Michael Smith’s Roasted Chicken

Ingredients

  • 1 large organic chicken
  • 4 carrots, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 4 stalks celery, chopped (I used 2)
  • 4 onions, peeled and cut in half (I used 1 large and cut it up a bit more)
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme
  • Sprinkled sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 500°.
  2. Rinse the chicken thoroughly with cold water and remove any giblets from the cavity. Dry well. Clean and sterilize your sink.

    I love how great our meats all come out now that we use a meat thermometer.

    I love how great our meats all come out now that we use a meat thermometer.

  3. Toss the carrots, celery and onions into the bottom of a roasting pan large enough to comfortably hold the chicken. Toss with the olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Place the chicken on top of the vegetables and sprinkle with some more olive oil. Season the chicken evenly with salt, pepper and thyme and place in the preheated oven. Immediately turn the oven temperature down to 350° and roast that bird for 1 and one half hours, or until an internal thermometer registers 165° when jabbed into the deepest part of the leg.
  4. When it’s done, pull the pan from the oven and let it rest for a few minutes. Cut the breasts and legs off of the carcass, reserving the carcass. Chunk the breast and leg meat, removing bones and place the meat back in the roasting pan with the vegetables. Stir together and serve.
  5. Put the reserved carcass in a large pot and cover with cold water. Add your choice of aromatic vegetables such as carrots, celery and onion and bring to a simmer, removing any debris that floats to the top. Leave it at a gentle simmer for an hour and then strain it into a clean container. Refrigerate.

 

This was a delicious chicken recipe! We will definitely make it again. I love when veggies are cooked with a meat. It just brings out a different mix of flavours that I LOVE. We will be using the rest of the chicken for salads and a stir fry tomorrow night for dinner.

Our little man's yummy dinner!

Our little man’s yummy dinner!

 

-Katie

