Each morning Katie wakes up around 6AM and gets ready for her morning shift at work. It is only a 2 hour shift so she is usually home by about 9AM.  This is a great chance for me to sleep in. This morning our beautiful son began making noise around 8AM.  I went to take a peek in his room to see if he was awake however he was sound asleep.  I went and checked my emails, read some blog postings and before I knew it, it was 8:30AM and I needed to think about breakfast. I thought, how wonderful would it be if Katie came home and there was a beautiful egg frittata waiting for her.  I have some culinary background and some good Italian friends, so I know a true egg frittata is made with spaghetti noodles. That being said, I decided to adapt it to make it grain free. Just as I was about to start preparing it, our son began to cry. I went right into daddy mode, picked him up, changed him, got him ready for the day and had a cooking show for him while he sat in his high chair.

 

Frittata

Frittata

Ingredients

  • 3 medium sized potatoes, grated (skins on)
  • 1/2 a bell pepper, chopped
  • 5-6 button mushrooms, sliced
  • handful of fresh spinach, chopped
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • sea salt and pepper to taste
  • cayenne pepper (add as much or as little as you wish)

Instructions

  1. Heat pan over medium heat and melt coconut oil.

    Melting the coconut oil.

    Melting the coconut oil.

  2. Add potatoes and saute until crispy. Add cayenne pepper if desired.

    Potatoes

    Potatoes

  3. Add the remaining vegetables and saute for about 5 minutes until veggies begin to sweat.

    Everything is in the pan and ready to go.

    Everything is in the pan and ready to go.

  4. In a separate bowl, crack your eggs and beat them.
  5. Spread out veggies and potatoes in the pan and pour eggs on top.

    The eggs are poured on top of all the veggies and potatoes.

    The eggs are poured on top of all the veggies and potatoes.

  6. Put a lid on the pan for about 5 minutes. When eggs are fully cooked on top, slice up and serve.
  7. Due to our addiction to spice we like to top this (and all of our eggs) with some hot sauce.

Katie (and our Son and me too) thoroughly enjoyed the surprise frittata!

Give the recipe a try and let us know what you think!
-Tom

