For the past month or so we have been baking about a dozen muffins each week to have on hand for quick snacks. We have been enjoying trying new recipes and new flavours each week. This week, I asked my Facebook friends for their favourite muffin type for inspiration in what to make. I had been thinking of doing morning glory and one friend suggested it which had me thinking. Then I had another friend say lemon and cranberry and another say blueberry. The lemon and cranberry really appealed to me and I was already tasting the lemon in my mouth. We don’t have cranberries on hand, but the blueberry comment filled in the missing ingredient – lemon and blueberry muffins!

Once again I looked online for recipes and made changes to work for me. I found this recipe and made some changes to it. I also remembered to take more pictures along the way as there was requests for that.

20130420-131812.jpg

It’s market day so the little counter space we have is overflowing with produce. Those are some yummy Leamington radishes I can’t wait to eat!

Lemon and Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients (this is based on the changes that I made)

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract (we are out so I skipped this and they taste yummy without it)
  • 1/4 cup of liquid honey (of course I used Oxford Honey)
  • 1 lemon, zest and juice
  • 1 1/4 cups of almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt (I never measure but just do a few turns of our grinder)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2-1 cup blueberries
20130420-131816.jpg

Mixing in the blueberries

1. Preheat oven to 350 Farenheit.

2. Whisk together eggs, coconut oil, vanilla, honey and lemon juice and zest.

3. Add almond flour, salt and baking soda. Once it is all mixed add blueberries. I used about 1/2 cup so there would be some left over for use later in the week. I also think 1 cup might be too much for my taste.

4.Line a muffin tray with wrappers and fill each cup about 1/2 full. I use 1/3 measuring cup, not quite full and it seems to work perfectly for me.

5. Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes (the original recipe said 35 minutes but mine were done at 20. Just be sure to keep and eye and check with a toothpick – if it comes out clean, they’re done).

20130420-131822.jpg

Baking!

20130420-131828.jpg

Baked to perfection!

Of course once you are done baking there is always the cleaning to be done. It is so handy to have a dog around to clean up any little spills!

20130420-131833.jpg

Bauer the cleaning dog.

Let us know if you try these muffins out and how it worked for you!

-Katie

