One of the best parts of buying a whole chicken each week is that we have a whole, fresh chicken just hanging around the house for us to cook up – whether it’s for just us or for us and company. Tom’s Aunt, Uncle and cousin came by today and we were able to provide a wonderful dinner for all of us with what we had on hand! 

We had made this recipe for Balsamic and Rosemary Chicken from Fast Paleo and really enjoyed it so I figured why not try it out again. 

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 tsp of garlic powder (I used about a clove of chopped garlic)
  • 1/2 tbsp of chopped fresh rosemary
  • salt and pepper

We did modify the cooking part quite a bit. I mixed up the marinade and before putting the chicken in it, I stuffed 1.5 sprigs of fresh rosemary under the skin on each breast and then 0.5 sprigs under the skin on the thigh/leg area.  I then coated the chicken in the marinade and placed it breast down in the pan. I let it marinade for about an hour in the fridge. I preheated the oven to 205 Celsius (about 400 F) and cooked it breast down for 30 minutes with the lid on. I then flipped it over and cooked it without the lid for another 30 minutes. At this point it wasn’t quite up to temperature but was getting blackened (not burnt though – it was something we hadn’t experienced before with this recipe) so I put the lid on for the remaining 15 minutes.  

We served this with roasted sweet potatoes (cooked in olive oil with basil), boiled carrots and a fresh salad with homemade apple cider vinegar dressing.  All in all I was pleased with the meal. Of course once again I forgot to get a picture but I promise I will try harder next time!

Now the bones are boiling with celery, garlic and onion to be made into a stock we will use later in the week to make zucchini soup. We have a plethora of zucchini in the house that we need to use up so we’re trying a bunch of new recipes this week!

-Katie

